L’aforisma del giorno – Mahmoud Darwish

Mahmoud Darwish, scrittore palestinese considerato tra i maggiori poeti del mondo arabo, ha raccontato l’orrore della guerra, dell’oppressione, dell’esilio (al-Birwa, suo villaggio natale, è stato distrutto dalle truppe israeliane durante la Nakba e ora non esiste più, né fisicamente né sulle cartine geografiche). Fuggito in Libano con la famiglia, per scampare alle persecuzioni sioniste, tornò in patria (divenuta terra dello Stato d’Israele) da clandestino, non potendo fare altrimenti. La sua condizione di “alieno” e di “ospite illegale” nel suo stesso paese rappresenterà uno dei capisaldi della sua produzione artistica.
ARRESTI ED ESILIO – Arrestato svariate volte per la sua condizione di illegalità e per aver recitato poesie in pubblico, Mahmoud – che esercitò anche la professione di giornalista – vagò a lungo, non avendo il permesso di vivere nella propria patria: Unione Sovietica, Egitto, Libano, Giordania, Cipro, Francia furono le principali nazioni dove il poeta, esule dalla sua terra, visse e lavorò.
Eletto membro del parlamento dell’Autorità Nazionale Palestinese, poté visitare i suoi parenti solo nel 1996, anno in cui – dopo 26 anni di esilio – ottenne un permesso da Israele. Il poeta si spense a Houston (Texas) il 9 agosto 2008 in seguito a complicazioni post-operatorie. Mahmoud aveva infatti subito diversi interventi al cuore, l’ultimo dei quali gli fu fatale.

IDENTITY CARD
Remember!
I am an Arab
And my identity card is number fifty thousand
I have eight children
And the ninth will arrive after the summer.
Will you get annoyed?

Remember!
I am an Arab,
employed with the workers in the quarry
I have eight children
From the rocks
I get bread,
Clothes and books.
I do not ask for charity at your doors
Nor do I humble myself on the steps of your room
So, will you be annoyed?

Remember!
I am an Arab,
I have a name without titles
And I remain patient in the earth
Whose people are irritated.
My roots
were usurped before the birth of time
before the opening of the eras
before the pines, and the olive trees
And before the grass grew.
My father… comes from the lineage of the plow,
He is not from a privileged class
and my grandfather, he was a farmer
neither well raised nor well born!
He taught me the pride of the sun
Before teaching me to read,
and my house is like an overseer’s lodge
made of wicker and straw:
are you satisfied with my state?
I have a name without a title!

Remember!
I am an Arab.
And you stole my ancestors’ gardens
And the land I cultivated
Together with my children,
Without leaving anything behind
if not these rocks,
And the State will take these too,
How they whisper.

Therefore!
Mark it at the top of your first page:
I don’t hate people
Nor have I ever abused anyone
but if I get hungry
The usurper’s flesh will become my food.
Be careful!
Be careful!
To my anger
And my hunger!

Mahmoud Darwish, a Palestinian writer considered among the greatest poets of the Arab world, recounted the horror of war, oppression, exile (al-Birwa, his home village, was destroyed by Israeli troops during the Nakba and is now no longer exists, neither physically nor on maps). Having fled to Lebanon with his family to escape Zionist persecution, he returned to his homeland (which became the land of the State of Israel) as an illegal immigrant, unable to do otherwise. His condition as an “alien” and “illegal guest” in his own country will represent one of the cornerstones of his artistic production.
ARRESTS AND EXILE – Arrested several times for his illegal status and for having recited poetry in public, Mahmoud – who also worked as a journalist – wandered for a long time, not having permission to live in his homeland: the Soviet Union, Egypt, Lebanon, Jordan, Cyprus and France were the main nations where the poet, exiled from his homeland, lived and worked.
Elected member of parliament of the Palestinian National Authority, he was able to visit his relatives only in 1996, the year in which – after 26 years of exile – he obtained a permit from Israel. The poet died in Houston (Texas) on 9 August 2008 following post-operative complications. Mahmoud had in fact undergone several heart operations, the last of which was fatal.

Mahmoud Darwish, écrivain palestinien considéré parmi les plus grands poètes du monde arabe, a raconté l’horreur de la guerre, de l’oppression, de l’exil (al-Birwa, son village natal, a été détruit par les troupes israéliennes lors de la Nakba et n’existe plus, ni physiquement ni sur les cartes). Ayant fui au Liban avec sa famille pour échapper aux persécutions sionistes, il est retourné dans son pays natal (qui est devenu la terre de l’État d’Israël) en tant qu’immigré clandestin, incapable de faire autrement. Sa condition d’« étranger » et d’« hôte illégal » dans son propre pays représentera l’une des pierres angulaires de sa production artistique.
ARRESTATIONS ET EXIL – Arrêté à plusieurs reprises pour son statut illégal et pour avoir récité de la poésie en public, Mahmoud – qui travaillait également comme journaliste – a longtemps erré, sans autorisation de vivre dans son pays natal : Union soviétique, Égypte, Liban , la Jordanie, Chypre et la France étaient les principales nations où le poète, exilé de son pays, a vécu et travaillé.
Élu député de l’Autorité nationale palestinienne, il n’a pu rendre visite à ses proches qu’en 1996, année où – après 26 ans d’exil – il a obtenu un permis d’Israël. Le poète est décédé à Houston (Texas) le 9 août 2008 des suites de complications postopératoires. Mahmoud avait en effet subi plusieurs opérations cardiaques dont la dernière lui fut mortelle.

poesie palestinesi

Lascia un commento

Questo sito utilizza Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come vengono elaborati i dati derivati dai commenti.